To Celebrate 50 Years of Gaming, The Golden Joystick Awards Will Be Determining the Ultimate System and Game of All Time

The Golden Joystick Awards were first given out 38 years ago, in 1983. The game of the year honors went to Jetpac, a shooter game on the ZX Spectrum.

Image Via Games Radar

The awards committee, though, actually traces the history of gaming back to 1971, when Computer Space, the first video arcade game was released.

With that in mind, the Golden Joysticks will be determining the all-time greatest console and best game of all time.


Content Director Daniel Dawkins announced:

“We assembled a diverse panel of industry luminaries to create a 20 game shortlist, considering factors such as critical reception, social impact, commercial success, legacy and influence, plus a measure of personal preference. We hope our shortlist represents the diversity and achievement of our 50-year-old industry, which – by definition – has been forced to exclude some truly exceptional games. You can find out more about the judging process on GamesRadar and we can’t wait to find out which games and hardware the public will vote as their winners.”

Each category features 20 nominees. The console category includes everything from old school systems like Amiga 500 and Atari 2600 up to more modern consoles such as the Playstation 4.


The game nominees are Minecraft, The Last of Us, Doom, Tetris, Super Mario 64, Street Fighter II, Space Invaders, Portal, Pokemon Go, Super Mario Kart, Grand Theft Auto V, Super Mario Bros. 3, The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, Halo: Combat Evolved, Dark Souls, Metal Gear Solid, Half Life 2, Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, Pac-Man and The Sims.

Gamers can vote for their favorites here



Todd Neikirk

Written by Todd Neikirk

Todd Neikirk is a New Jersey-based politics and technology writer. His work has been featured in,, and He enjoys sports, politics, comic books, and spending time at the shore with his family.