Five Sega Genesis Games Are Added to Nintendo Switch Online

Five Sega Genesis Games are Added to Nintendo Switch Online

As part of a December update, five Sega Genesis games have been added to the Nintendo Switch Online Expansion Pack.

The games are as follows:

  • Altered Beast
  • ToeJam & Earl
  • Dynamite Headdy
  • Sword of Vermilion
  • Thunder Force II

The five Sega Genesis titles help round a list of over a dozen titles available to play.

The full list of already available games is listed below:

  • Castlevania: Bloodlines
  • Contra: Hard Corps
  • Dr. Robotnik’s Mean Bean Machine
  • Ecco the Dolphin
  • Golden Axe
  • Guntar Heroes
  • M.U.S.H.A.
  • Phantasy Star 4: The End of the Millenium
  • RIstar
  • Shining Force
  • Shinobi 3
  • Sonic the Hedgehog 2
  • Streets of Rage 2
  • Strider

It’s interesting that Nintendo seems to be more aggressive in rolling out the Genesis games. For Nintendo 64 fans, it’s only been Paper Mario this month and Banjo-Kazooie next.

There’s a lot of great N64 games available, so hopefully, Nintendo can pick up the pace there. For Sega Genesis fans, though, it’s a good time to play some classics.

A trailer that teases the five added Genesis games was also made available by Nintendo. It can be seen below for your viewing pleasure.

Here’s to hoping we keep seeing some Genesis love in 2022. There are a lot more games to choose from; I’d be lying if I wasn’t wanting to see Vectorman added to the list. I’ve heard some great things about Shadowrun as well.


Written by Jake Valentine

I am the Editor-In-Chief of BossLevelGamer. I'm also a lover of video games, food, and beer.