in ,

Hollow Knight | All Bosses in Order

Hollow Knight

Hollow Knight is a fantastic metroidvania that remains popular despite its growing age. If you haven’t had the chance to play the game yet, now is still as good a time as any to check it out. And you’ll want to keep this little guide handy if you decide to give it a shot, because the game features a wide variety of bosses, and the order in which you should fight them is not always clear. Fortunately, if you follow these bosses in order, you’ll always know where to go next.

All Hollow Knight Bosses in Order

All Hollow Knight Bosses in Order

Hollow Knight is a game that gives you a lot of freedom to explore most of the map at your own pace. Therefore, you can choose to engage the majority of bosses in whichever order you see fit. However, we wouldn’t necessarily recommend straying too far off the beaten path as a new player, because the game has a natural learning curve and progression.

If you’re looking for the most straightforward experience, approach each boss in the following order:

  1. False Knight (Forgotten Crossroads)
  2. Gruz Mother (Forgotten Crossroads)
  3. Vengefly King (Greenpath)
  4. Hornet Protector (Greenpath)
  5. Massive Moss Charger (Greenpath)
  6. Mantis Lords (Fungal Wastes)
  7. Soul Warrior (Soul Sanctum)
  8. Soul Master (Soul Sanctum)
  9. Dung Defender (Royal Waterways)
  10. Flukemarm (Royal Waterways)
  11. Crystal Guardian (Crystal Peak)
  12. Broken Vessel (Ancient Basin)
  13. Uumuu (Teacher’s Archives)
  14. Watchers Knights (Watcher’s Spire)
  15. Hornet Sentinel (Kingdom’s Edge)
  16. Nosk (Deepnest)
  17. The Collector (Tower of Love)
  18. Brooding Mawlek (Forgotten Crossroads)
  19. Hive Knight (The Hive)
  20. Traitor Lord (Queen’s Gardens)
  21. Oblobbles (Kingdom’s Edge)
  22. God Tamer (Kingdom’s Edge)
  23. The Hollow Knight (Forgotten Crossroads – Temple of the Black Egg)
  24. The Radiance (Forgotten Crossroads – Temple of the Black Egg)

It’s important to note is that Hollow Knight also has multiple endings. In the regular ending, the titular Hollow Knight is the final boss of the story and you can finish the game by killing it. If you want to face off against the secret final boss, however, you’ll instead need to use the Dream Nail on The Hollow Knight. Doing so will unlock the fight against The Radiance.

Also worth noting is that there are a handful of other bosses that were added via DLC. We didn’t include them on this list because they’re not really part of the main story, and you can completely ignore them if you want.

Written by Andrew Smith